Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Former Halo music composer files suit against Bungie

Former Halo music composer files suit against Bungie

Fri 06 Jun 2014 7:22pm GMT / 3:22pm EDT / 12:22pm PDT
PeopleLegal

Marty O'Donnell accuses studio and its boss Harold Ryan of failing to pay him for vacation time and other benefits

Back in April of this year, the unfortunate news broke that long-time Bungie composer Marty O'Donnell was let go after years of work on games like Myth, Halo and the upcoming Activision-published Destiny. In a Twitter post at the time, O'Donnell said that he was fired "without cause."

While Bungie responded that it had been an amicable split, clearly O'Donnell doesn't see it that way, and today VentureBeat has reported that O'Donnell is suing Bungie and chief executive, Harold Ryan, for failing to pay him for unpaid vacation time, paid time off, and other benefits.

In the lawsuit, filed on May 1, O'Donnell describes how Bungie has a policy to pay employees for accrued, unused vacation, paid time off, sabbatical time, and other benefits, and while he was promised by management to be paid, he never was. VentureBeat notes that O'Donnell also "has other grievances against Bungie and Ryan" that aren't described in the lawsuit and are being pursued in arbitration. Bungie and Ryan responded on May 27, denying that O'Donnell was owed anything.

1 Comment

Paul Jace Merchandiser

945 1,433 1.5
Now this just sucks seeing my favorite composer of all time having to fight with one of my favorite developers(when they were making Halo games) in court. Anyway I hope it all works out for the best, especially for Marty.

Posted:5 months ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now