Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Dean Hall leaving Bohemia and DayZ

Dean Hall leaving Bohemia and DayZ

Mon 24 Feb 2014 11:30am GMT / 6:30am EST / 3:30am PST
DevelopmentJobs

Will start own studio in New Zealand

Bohemia Interactive

Established in 1999 in Prague, Czech Republic, Bohemia Interactive is an independent game development...

bistudio.com

DayZ creator Dean Hall will leave Bohemia Interactive and his hit game behind this year, and instead start his own studio in New Zealand.

"I would extend my involvement here as long as Bohemia wanted - needed - me," he told Eurogamer.

"Originally I wasn't going to do this year, but it would be stupid not to, and it would be unfair to the community. I have to be on the project as long as it's important to. Whether that role is as the leader, whether that role is in a more creative sense... But at a certain point there will be diminishing returns."

He added that despite his departure he would always have some involvement with DayZ, but is already focused on his new studio with three game ideas in mind and a passion for the multiplayer experience.

"I guess most people would have not said anything," he said of the departure.

"But I want to avoid a Notch-like situation so that everybody knows that one day - publishers as well - I'm going to come knocking. But it's not going to be under traditional terms, it's going to be different."

Bohemia Interactive has so far declined to comment on Hall's plans.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now