Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Endemol invests $13m in social casino start-up

Endemol invests $13m in social casino start-up

Tue 17 Dec 2013 8:42am GMT / 3:42am EST / 12:42am PST
Publishing

"Plumbee is one of the most innovative and dynamic operators in this space"

Endemol, best known for bringing reality show Big Brother to the world, is expanding its gaming presence with a $13 million investment in social casino gaming company Plumbee.

"Social casino gaming is a fast emerging market and Plumbee is one of the most innovative and dynamic operators in this space," said Endemol's Lucas Church.

"This new partnership will allow us to accelerate the growth of Endemol's digital gaming business around the world, whilst capturing more of the value created by our entertainment brands."

Endemol already has games based on some of its most popular licenses like Pointless and Deal or No Deal, while Plumbee specialises in free-to-play online and mobile games. One of its most successful games since its launch in 2011 is iOS game Mirrorball Slots.

"Joining forces with a world leading content creator like Endemol ideally positions us to develop a new generation of premium social games," added Plumbee CEO Raf Keustermans.

"Endemol will become a strategic shareholder and this will enable us to leverage the company's international network and globally recognised brands. This will significantly boost the growth of our worldwide user base as we create gaming experiences that stand out from the competition."

This latest deal values Plumbee at $40 million.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now