Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ARM acquires game lighting specialist Geomerics

ARM acquires game lighting specialist Geomerics

Fri 13 Dec 2013 8:38am GMT / 3:38am EST / 12:38am PST
Development

Tech behind Need for Speed Rivals, EVE, BF4 snapped up by microprocessor giant

Geomerics, the UK firm that creates lighting software for the video game and entertainment business, has been acquired by microprocessor giant ARM.

Geomerics' Enlighten solution can be found in games such as Need for Speed Rivals, Battlefield 4 and EVE Online. The company will become a wholly owned subsidiary of ARM.

"The innovative technologies being developed by Geomerics are already revolutionizing the console gaming experience and are set to rapidly accelerate the transition to photo realistic graphics in mobile," said Pete Hutton, EVP and GM of the Media Processing Division at ARM.

"Empowering Geomerics' portfolio with ARM's graphics capabilities and market reach will be transformative for the user experiences in future mobile and entertainment devices."

Based in Cambridge, Geomerics was founded by prof. Anthony Lasenby, Dr Michael Hobson, Dr. Joan Lasenby, Prof. Alyn Rockwood and Prof. David Hestenes.

CEO Gary Lewis has a background at Take Two and the board includes former Sony Europe boss Chris Deering.

2 Comments

robert troughton UK General Manager, Epic Games

222 96 0.4
Wow, congrats guys! An excellent group of people at Geomerics - and some really nice tech.

Posted:10 months ago

#1

Adam Campbell Associate Producer, Miniclip Ltd

1,183 975 0.8
Quite a surprise for me but Geomerics are a good firm.

Posted:10 months ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now