Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Third Point raises Sony stake as it pushes for spin-off

Third Point raises Sony stake as it pushes for spin-off

Tue 18 Jun 2013 7:31am GMT / 3:31am EDT / 12:31am PDT
Publishing

Investment firm increases its stock-holding, suggests "semi-independent governance structure"

Third Point has raised its stake in Sony Corp as it continues to push for the electronics giant to spin-off its entertainment business.

According to a report from Bloomberg, Third Point sent a letter to Sony Corp. CEO Kaz Hirai today, suggesting that a representative from the investment fund be added to Sony's board. It also mentioned that Third Point had raised its stake in the company from 64 million to 70 million shares.

In the letter, Third Point CEO and co-founder Daniel Loeb suggested a "semi-independent governance structure" that would see Hirai remain chairman of both companies. The new structure, Loeb argued, would increase individual accountability and help with growth targets and allocation of capital.

The suggestion that Sony should "partially spin-off" its Sony Entertainment divisions - music, cable, film and TV production, but not games - was first made by Third Point's Loeb in May. In Loeb's opinion, Sony is composed of two distinct parts, "each obscuring the other's true worth."

Kaz Hirai subsequently acknowledged that Loeb's proposal was, "only a start," but that the Sony board would consider the suggestion and arrive at a decision.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now