Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

China's online game market to hit $11.9 billion this year

China's online game market to hit $11.9 billion this year

Thu 02 May 2013 6:23pm GMT / 2:23pm EDT / 11:23am PDT
Emerging MarketsOnlineFree-to-PlayFinancial

Niko Partners notes surge in hardcore market and resurgence for Internet cafés, but expects growth to slow through 2018

The Chinese online PC market will rake in $11.9 billion this year, according to Niko Partners. The Southeast Asian gaming research firm today released its latest report on the Chinese online gaming market, finding reasons for optimism despite a drop-off in social, casual, and MMORPG popularity.

According to Niko, the Chinese PC online gaming market has grown from $10 million in 2001 to more than $9 billion at 2012's end. And while the firm expects that explosive growth to slow down in the next five years, it still anticipates it will add more than $2 billion to its revenue total in each of the next five years.

Additionally, the report found that shooters and free-to-play hardcore games like League of Legends have benefitted from a bump in popularity of late. The genres have become so popular with 18-24-year-old men that they've even resuscitated the Internet café sector recently hampered by the increasing home broadband penetration in China.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now