Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EverQuest welcomes back designer Brad McQuaid

EverQuest welcomes back designer Brad McQuaid

Tue 12 Mar 2013 1:02am GMT / 9:02pm EDT / 6:02pm PDT
PeopleOnline

Key Everquest designer ends a twelve-year absence

Brad McQuaid, one of the original designers behind Sony Online Entertainment's EverQuest, has returned to the game that put him on the map. McQuaid announced his return in a post on the official forums.

"When I was given the opportunity to return to the team it was something I just had to do! I found, in addition to all of the great new features and UI elements, that the game, at its core, was still very much the EQ I was involved with. In fact, some of my first work as a game designer on the team will be working on areas that have been alluded to since launch. I can't say more than that, of course, but I'm sure you can imagine how exciting this is for me," wrote McQuaid.

McQuaid returns to Everquest 12 years after he left Sony Online Entertainment. He was the original designer and producer at EverQuest developer Verant Interactive back in 1996, before the company was acquired by Sony Online in 1999. McQuaid left SOE in 2001 and founded Vanguard: Saga of Heroes developer Sigil Games Online a year later. Sigil was acquired by SOE in 2007, completing McQuaid's roundtrip.

1 Comment

Robert Mac-Donald Game Designer, Lethe Games

75 99 1.3
Since according to some websites Everquest 3 (called Everquest Next) will be "more like EQ1", it was a bit confusing to read that he is still working on the original one instead of the latest sequel.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now