Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Matsuno retires from Level-5

Matsuno retires from Level-5

Thu 08 Nov 2012 8:29am GMT / 3:29am EST / 12:29am PST
PeopleDevelopment

Final Fantasy Tactics and Vagrant Story designer takes a break

Japanese gaming veteran Yasumi Matsuno has publicly announced his departure from Professor Layton developer Level-5.

“I'm sorry to report, but due to personal reasons, next month I'll be retiring from Level-5,” he said in a tweet, which was spotted and translated by Gematsu.

"Having finished production of 3DSWare domestically and in North America and Europe, it's at a good point time-wise for me to retire.”

The title he's referring to is Crimson Shroud, which has just seen international release.

“Even though it was for a short period of time, I was able to work hard without any gross mistakes. I am extremely grateful for the gift of genial teaching I received from everyone. Over and over again, thank you so much. I plan on taking a break for a while. I'm very thankful to have your support from now on.”

He joined the company in June 2011, saying at the time that he felt a "common vision" with Level-5 CEO Akihiro Hino.

3 Comments

Raphael Honore
Localization Assistant Manager

31 3 0.1
Vagrant Story 2, yes please. Please think about it during your break, good sir.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Chris Nash
QA Engineer

47 23 0.5
I'd like to see Level-5 revisit the Dark Cloud/Chronicle series. Rogue Galaxy was a spiritual successor, but nowhere near as fun or varied in its gameplay.

Posted:A year ago

#2

Hector Remy
Programmer

8 0 0.0
Well deserved rest, I love his game designs.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Hector Remy on 9th November 2012 8:57am

Posted:A year ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now