Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Dontnod: Kick ass doesn't have to mean ultraviolent

Dontnod: Kick ass doesn't have to mean ultraviolent

Mon 05 Nov 2012 8:24am GMT / 3:24am EST / 12:24am PST

Creative director Jean-Maxime Moris on gaming stereotypes

DONTNOD Entertainment

DONTNOD Entertainment is a game development studio founded by experienced and talented game professionals.

DONTNOD...

Jean-Maxime Moris, creative director on Capcom's new IP Remember Me, has addressed the hot topics of violence and white male leads in video games.

"How f**king stupid is this industry to only bet on those stereotypes?" he asked CVG.

"It's the only thing you give people, they get accustomed to it and don't want anything else. So yes, our character, Nilin, is mixed race, she is female, her sexual orientation is her private life, so I won't go there."

In the upcoming release Nilin explores a dystopian Paris, messing with memories to take on the Memoryes corporation.

"It's the only thing you give people, they get accustomed to it and don't want anything else"

"She runs around, climbs, leaps, kicks guys' asses, remixes their memories, only kills a few people - and does it all in a game with no blood," continued Moris.

"We made those choices to say: 'look you can have something that's kick ass, something that's powerful, and you don't need it to be ultraviolent'.

Last month Moris also spoke about the benefits of launching a new IP so late in the current consoles' life cycle.

"If you have something that's new enough, that's fresh enough, and interesting enough, you've never been able to sell it to as many people as now," he said at the time.

Remember Me is due for release next spring.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now