Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Project Eternity Kickstarter breaks Double Fine record

Project Eternity Kickstarter breaks Double Fine record

Tue 16 Oct 2012 8:22am GMT / 4:22am EDT / 1:22am PDT
DevelopmentFinancial

16 hours to go for Obsidian RPG and $3.4m raised

Obsidian Entertainment's Project Eternity is now the most funded game on the Kickstarter crowd-funding service, with the total raised hitting $3.4m with hours to go.

The total contributed by the community currently stands at $3,405,267, meaning the game has now surpassed the $3,336,371 raised by Double Fine Adventure back in March.

Obsidian Entertainment's project, to launch an isometric RPG, has had the support of 66,226 backers so far, and the funding won't end until later tonight.

"I suspect the amount of money involved with the initial Kickstarter isn't something that would be appealing to a traditional publisher," creative director and Obsidian co-owner Chris Avellone told RPGFan yesterday.

"But if the game sells a million units once it's released, that would definitely cause them to take notice."

1 Comment

Curt Sampson
Sofware Developer

596 359 0.6
It's far higher, actually. The official Kickstarter total is $3,986,929, but that doesn't include PayPal donations that didn't go through Kickstarter which pushed it past four million.

This is nowhere near a AAA budget for sure, but it shows what you can do if you're a studio with a trusted name and a track record, and bodes quite well for certain less popular genres that most publishers aren't too interested in but which have a solid fan base.

I'm very curious to see the sales figures for this in the year or two after it comes out.

Posted:A year ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now