Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Warner Bros and Kabam partner for The Hobbit games

Warner Bros and Kabam partner for The Hobbit games

Tue 25 Sep 2012 1:00pm GMT / 9:00am EDT / 6:00am PDT
Mobile

Multi-player, free-to-play strategy games coming soon for mobile and web

Kabam has entered into a partnership with Warner Bros to develop and operate two multiplayer strategy games based on the upcoming film The Hobbit from New Line Cinema Metro-Goldwyn Mayer Pictures.

The games, The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-earth, for mobile devices and The Hobbit: Armies of the Third Age, for web browsers, both launch this fall. Starting September 25, players can sign up to take part in the upcoming beta for The Hobbit: Armies of the Third Age at this address.

"The Hobbit films are among the most anticipated entertainment launches of all time," said Kevin Chou, CEO, Kabam. "Kabam's unique ability to blend the art of game design and the science of free-to-play distribution makes us a natural fit to partner with Warner Bros to deliver thrilling games via the Web and mobile devices for The Hobbit film fans around the world."

"We are very pleased to work with Kabam in creating immersive free-to-play online games on massive scales across multiple platforms," added Greg Ballard, SVP of Digital Games at Warner. "Kabam's Armies of the Third Age and Kingdoms of Middle-earth will be an excellent way for The Hobbit film fans around the world to delve more into the iconic story and interact with the characters in the universe."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now