Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Runescape adds new security measures

Runescape adds new security measures

Wed 12 Sep 2012 8:10am GMT / 4:10am EDT / 1:10am PDT
Online

Publisher Jagex wants to protect players' investment in the MMO

Jagex Games Studio

Jagex Games Studio has developed and self-published over 40 online titles, including the Guinness World...

jagex.com

Runescape publisher Jagex has strengthened the security of its popular MMO with a new Jagex Account Guardian system.

JAG is free and will allow players to add trusted devices to their account. Logging in on an unregistered device will require extra validation from the player before they can access their account.

"Ensuring the integrity and security of our valued community's information has always been a top priority for us, this recent update serves to strengthen the number of other innovative countermeasures we have developed over the past years" said CEO Mark Gerhard.

"Unfortunately a lot of people tend to use the same username and password on other websites, many of these are not well managed from a security standpoint and end up becoming compromised, others are simply phishing websites intended to steal player credentials, sadly the industry also has a very long list of high profile games publishers that have been hacked resulting sensitive customer account information being in the public domain."

He added it was the responsibility of Jagex to protect the investment, of both time and money, made by players.

Guild Wars II's recent troubles with hacking should act as a cautionary tale to publishers of online titles, and to users who repeat passwords across different website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now