Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Funcom confirms layoffs in "cost-adjustment initiative"

Funcom confirms layoffs in "cost-adjustment initiative"

Tue 21 Aug 2012 9:17pm GMT / 5:17pm EDT / 2:17pm PDT
BusinessPeople

The Secret World's lukewarm performance leads to cuts at Funcom

Layoffs have come to The Secret World developer Funcom, according to a statement given to Polygon. The cuts come after the lukewarm performance of the recently-released MMO, and fall under previously announced "cost-adjustment initiatives".

"As we announced in the stock notice that went out on August 10th, Funcom is in the process of reducing operational costs and this process includes temporary layoffs as well as other initiatives," said the company statement.

"As we are currently in the middle of this process we cannot provide any further comment at the present time. Rest assured however that we have long-term plans for the company and that we remain fully committed to all of our games."

Funcom did not confirm the number of employees affected by the cuts.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now