Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

World of Warcraft film gets new script

World of Warcraft film gets new script

Fri 03 Aug 2012 5:07pm GMT / 1:07pm EDT / 10:07am PDT
Business

Kotick says Blizzard is "very excited" about the movie

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Legendary Entertainment remains keen on making a World of Warcraft movie. They've hired Charles Leavitt to pen the latest script and are looking to move the project forward, potentially hiring a new director soon.

Sam Raimi (Evil Dead, Spider-Man) was originally set to direct the film. However, Raimi confirmed at the San Diego Comic-Con that he is no longer involved with the World of Warcraft film and is fully focused on Disney's Oz: The Great and Powerful.

Charles Leavitt worked on Legendary's The Seventh Son that stars Jeff Bridges, Ben Barnes and Julianne Moore, with an expected release on October 18, 2013. He has also worked on Blood Diamond, The Mighty and K-PAX.

Activision Blizzard CEO Bobby Kotick commented to Variety that if the film is "important to Blizzard, it's important to me. They're very excited about having a World of Warcraft film. They've been very careful and thoughtful about the development process."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now