Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Wii patent lawsuit dismissed

Wii patent lawsuit dismissed

Wed 01 Aug 2012 9:00pm GMT / 5:00pm EDT / 2:00pm PDT
Hardware

Lawsuit had alleged that Wii and its controllers infringed on a patent

Nintendo of America announced today that a patent-infringement lawsuit brought against the company by Copper Innovations Group has been dismissed. Copper had alleged that the Wii console and its controllers infringed on one of its patents (US Patent No. 5,640,152).

Judge David Cercone of the US District Court in Pittsburgh issued a judgment in Nintendo's favor and ruled that there was no need for a jury trial.

"We are very pleased with the court's decision," said Richard Medway, Nintendo of America's deputy general counsel. "Nintendo has a long history of developing innovative products while respecting the intellectual property rights of others. We also vigorously defend patent lawsuits when we firmly believe that we have not infringed another party's patent, despite the risks that this policy entails. I would like to express our sincere appreciation for the tireless efforts of our legal team."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now