Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gambitious calling for submissions prior to summer launch

Gambitious calling for submissions prior to summer launch

Thu 07 Jun 2012 7:33am GMT / 3:33am EDT / 12:33am PDT
Financial

Game-focused Kickstarter alternative looking for business at E3

Gambitious, the games-only crowdfunding project based in Holland, has been calling for applicants for funding, ready for the project to launch later this summer.

Gambitious hopes to snag game projects looking for cash injections with its funding structure, which rewards investors with a stake in the game, rather than a direct reward as Kickstarter does.

"In February, Tim Schafer and Double Fine proved to the world that crowdfunding for games is very real and that fans can choose the games they want to be made by funding them directly," said Gambitious co-founder Mike Wilson.

"As far as my partners and I are concerned, this represents the biggest opportunity independent developers have ever had to truly control their own creative and financial destiny, but it has to be handled with care if it is to last."

Wilson's career in games is long and storied, starting at id Software before moving through Ion Storm, Gathering of Developers, Take Two, Gamecock and Devolver Digital.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now