Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Silicon Knights confirms that it will appeal court ruling

Silicon Knights confirms that it will appeal court ruling

Thu 31 May 2012 8:38pm GMT / 4:38pm EDT / 1:38pm PDT
Legal

A jury ruled in favor of Epic on all counts, but Denis Dyack isn't giving up

Silicon Knights

Silicon KnightsŪ is a guild of talented individuals dedicated to creating groundbreaking video games....

siliconknights.com

Yesterday, news broke from Epic Games VP Mark Rein that the jury on the Epic v. Silicon Knights lawsuit had ruled on all counts in favor of the Unreal studio. A judge awarded Epic Games $4.5 million in damages in its countersuit against Silicon Knights. Now, however, GamesIndustry International has heard from Silicon Knights boss Denis Dyack that his company intends to appeal.

"We are disappointed by the outcome and we plan on appealing," he told us.

Silicon Knights had been seeking $58 million in damages over problems it faced with Epic's lack of support for the Unreal Engine 3 during development of Silicon Kinght's Too Human. Dyack said his team had to build a whole new engine from scratch while Epic put its focus on the first Gears of War for Xbox 360.

It'll probably be a long while (several months) before a verdict is reached on Silicon Knights' appeal, but we'll keep you posted on any developments.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now