Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision won't try to block Respawn title, says Pachter

Activision won't try to block Respawn title, says Pachter

Thu 17 May 2012 8:23pm GMT / 4:23pm EDT / 1:23pm PDT
LegalPublishingDevelopment

The settlement between EA and ATVI means Respawn's first game could be out in fiscal 2014

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

With the $400 million contract interference claim made by Activision against Electronic Arts officially resolved (the two publishers simply stated that they have "decided to put this matter behind them"), it is expected that Activision will not attempt to stop the publishing and release of Respawn Entertainment's first title in 2014, Wedbush analyst Michael Pachter has pointed out.

Pachter commented, "We believe that the settlement agreement signals that Activision will not attempt to block or delay the first release from Respawn Entertainment, which we continue to expect in FY:14."

Pachter also believes the settlement more than likely resulted in little to no payout, saying, "We do not believe that the undisclosed settlement amount was material to either Activision or EA, and think it is entirely possible that little or no compensation actually changed hands."

Respawn Entertainment has stated they will not be presenting at this year's E3.

As for Activison's other lawsuit against former Infinity Ward and current Respawn heads Jason West and Vince Zampella, that trial is on schedule to kick off at the end of this month.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now