Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Diablo III to sell 3.5 million copies this year, says analyst

Diablo III to sell 3.5 million copies this year, says analyst

Fri 04 May 2012 7:46pm GMT / 3:46pm EDT / 12:46pm PDT

Blizzard is gearing up for launch and demand should be high, says Arvind Bhatia

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Blizzard fans, after a long. long wait, will finally be able to pick up Diablo III in about a week and a half. The game is expected to put up solid numbers for Activision Blizzard, selling through several million copies, Sterne Agee analyst Arvind Bhatia said.

Bhatia estimates that the game will sell 3.5 million units this year alone and should sell around 4 million copies or more for the lifetime of the title.

"We think Diablo III, which is releasing after a gap of 12 years since the launch of Diablo II, has the potential to sell more than 4 million units life-time... We note that Diablo II had sold 4M units by August 2001 or 14 months following its initial release in June 2010," he said.

Bhatia does see Diablo III as a potential catalyst in the near-term for Activision's stock. He's currently maintaining a "Buy" rating with a $17 price target.

Blizzard recently detailed how its auction house will operate in-game and what kind of cut the company will take from each transaction.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now