Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Tribes: Ascend has over 800,000 users

By Rachel Weber

Tribes: Ascend has over 800,000 users

Mon 30 Apr 2012 9:37am GMT / 5:37am EDT / 2:37am PDT

Hi-Rez Studios's free-to-play title shows impressive growth

Free-to-play title Tribes: Ascend already has more than 800,000 registered accounts since its release on April 12.

Hi-Rez Studios COO Todd Harris confirmed the figure to Gamasutra, and suggests that the game is proving as popular as the critical acclaim predicted.

Tribes: Ascend's free-to-play model allows players to use XP or gold to unlock items, but upgrades for weapons and equipment can only be acquired with XP.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Darren Adams Managing Director, ChaosTrend

466 1,076 2.3
I always said since Star Siege Tribes (which I used to run a clan for) they should really redo the game. Tribes 2+3 were a bit ‘meh’ because they didn’t focus where the game really excelled which was base defence/attack and insane high speed combat.

One of the best team games I have played this year, Respect to Hi-Rez for not screwing up this game.

Posted:3 years ago

800 000 +1 loads of fun with this game!

Posted:3 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now