Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mass Effect 3 publisher struck by FTC complaints over game ending

Mass Effect 3 publisher struck by FTC complaints over game ending

Mon 19 Mar 2012 9:06pm GMT / 5:06pm EDT / 2:06pm PDT

Angry fans have reported EA to the FTC and BBB for their issues with Mass Effect 3's controversial endings

EA BioWare

BioWare develops high quality console, PC and online role-playing games, focused on rich stories, unforgettable...

bioware.com

The multiple endings of Mass Effect 3 have angered fans enough for some to file complaints with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the Better Business Bureau (BBB). In a post on the BioWare Social Network forums, user El_Spike told others that the "terrible ending" of the game led to his actions.

"This is not something I was happy to do, but after the terrible ending that was in no way the product that had been advertised to me and the lack of any kind of response from BioWare/EA to address this, I felt it was one of my only recourses. I'll be returning my copy of the game before the end of my 30 day return policy if the ending still hasn't been addressed by then," the user wrote.

"Filed a Better Business Bureau complaint as well. The BBB will at the very least notify EA of any complaints they receive, so every complaint filed is something that EA will hear about."

The user pointed to another forum post laying out a number of claims made in developer interviews. Many players believe those claims were not represented in the final product.

"After reading through the list of promises about the ending of the game they made in their advertising campaign and PR interviews, it was clear that the product we got did not live up to any of those claims," wrote El_Spiko.

BioWare tackled some of the fan outrage in a post on its forums this weekend, noting that further content could be added to the game to augment the original ending.

(Caution readers: light spoilers here.)

"We always intended that the scale of the conflict and the underlying theme of sacrifice would lead to a bittersweet ending-to do otherwise would betray the agonizing decisions Shepard had to make along the way. Still, we wanted to give players the chance to experience an inspiring and uplifting ending; in a story where you face a hopeless struggle for basic survival, we see the final moments and imagery as offering victory and hope in the context of sacrifice and reflection," wrote Mass Effect 3 executive producer Casey Hudson.

"We also recognize that some of our most passionate fans needed more closure, more answers, and more time to say goodbye to their stories-and these comments are equally valid. Player feedback such as this has always been an essential ingredient in the development of the series."

"Throughout the next year, we will support Mass Effect 3 by working on new content. And we'll keep listening, because your insights and constructive feedback will help determine what that content should be. This is not the last you'll hear of Commander Shepard," Hudson said.

[Via GamePur]

47 Comments

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
What has become of gaming? I finished the game and while I don`t find it to be a great ending it is an ending and my choice (hint: "green") fits actually with how I played the story. I wish there would have been more about how the other races go on, but I don`t think I should get my money back because there isn`t. I just don`t get all the outrage and I played all 3 games in the series. It`s not like Bioware pulled a Kojima and did what he did with MGS2 and Raiden. If people don`t like the ending of the next Batman movie are they going to demand their money back or that they change the ending?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

DeShaun Zollicoffer
Editorial Director

18 17 0.9
Well said, I haven't finished the game yet--but I doubt it's as bad as people are making it out to be. And even if it is, isn't it the journey more important than the destination?

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
I can understand complaining about the DLC that was clearly intended as main game content and not as DLC given how it is implemented in the game compared to the ME2 DLC characters that had little interactivity outside of their loyality missions. But as far as the main game is concerned the 45+ hours I got out of it where well worth the price of it. It was not the worst ending of recent memory and it`s at least an ending to remember compared to other games, I couldn`t tell you what the ending of Skyrim was and it`s not that long ago that I finished it.

Posted:2 years ago

#3
@Werner: afaik many people are not just complaining about the specific end but more about the fact that there is just one single end regardless of your decisions you've made. For many players the ending seems also rushed as there are too much questions unanswered. So, it's not just a question about taste but also about quality and honesty. Maybe Bioware just made too many promises without keeping them ...

Edited 3 times. Last edit by Gnud Rehnquister on 20th March 2012 7:32am

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Roarke Nelson
3D Artist

2 0 0.0
Some people are really just pathetic. Dont they have anything better to do than complain about a game that didn't end they way they wanted it to? I played all 3 Mass Effects and I personally thought the ending of the 3rd one alright, it wasnt amazing but it wasn't terrible. Maybe these "fan boys" should make their own games... then they can end it however they want. Or maybe they should just get a life.

Posted:2 years ago

#5

Alfonso Sexto
Lead Tester

813 643 0.8
Honestly, and with a little room for respect (the minimun). Who the h**l this people think they are?, now everyone is a damn game designer?.

You don't like the game ending?, then DEAL WITH IT. Will this guy do the same with a movie, a music CD or a book eh doesn't like? does he expect the world to create artistic pieces just up to his taste?

Such arrogance really pisses me off, specially when it comes from nobodies like this one.

Posted:2 years ago

#6

Andreas Gschwari
Senior Games Designer

559 608 1.1
Actually, before you guys all bash the people who make complaints, you might want to read up on what he is complaining about and about the marketing statements that were made about the game. Then you should play the game and finish it.

If you do all that, you will actually come to realize that there are several blatantly wrong marketing statements (read lies) when it comes to ME3. There are several quotes by the Bioware team and EA that allude to things that simply did not make it into the game.

To be honest, i think fans of a game series (you know the people who actually buy the games we make?) have every right to be expecting something. Particularly in games that are a trilogy. They already spent money on 2 games and countless DLC, keeping a company funded, keeping people in jobs and ensuring the 3rd game gets made - i would think that does entitle those fans, those customers, to an opinion and a "right" to get something that is at least as good as the previous 2 titles.

To be honest, i am shocked some people here think that gamers are not entitled to anything. you do realize we make games for gamers. we make games for fans. those are the people who eventually pay our bills and keep us employed. because if you only make games for yourself, then you won't make games for long.

Posted:2 years ago

#7

Roarke Nelson
3D Artist

2 0 0.0
Ok, I wasn't aware that Bioware made so many promises that went unfufilled... I guess I am more of a 'casual' fan then. I kinda like the way things went unanswered though, leaves alot to your imagination. Maybe future DLCs will address some of the loose ends.

Posted:2 years ago

#8

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
Honestly, while i wouldn't ever file a complaint with an official beaureau like those mentioned above, the ending to ME3 was technically and literarily of poor quality. I did expect better of Bioware - both because of their past and because of the fact that it's an end to the trilogy.

I have to say that after playing their recent rushed releases and assessing the quality of their products Bioware is no longer a company I wish to do business with. I think that they've shot themselves in the feet by taking on too many projects simultaneously and pushing for quick dev cycles. I mean, in the last 4 years they've (obviously some different teams, though some cross-over) released ME2, ME3, DA2, KOTOR MMO. That's a hell of a lot of churn-out and in my opinion the first three games (haven't played the MMO) suffered for it in some ways - specifically with regards to storytelling.


Responding specifically to Alfonso:

Such arrogance really pisses me off, specially when it comes from nobodies like this one.

The continuing arrogance of publishers and developers towards their customers continues to shock me over the many years i've been gaming and it's only getting worse. Treat your customers like this and this is how they'll repay you.

Posted:2 years ago

#9

Craig Burkey
Software Engineer

178 274 1.5
I completed it and am on my Insanity playthough now and to be honest yeah the ending is a little short and the final scene didn't make much sense, but the rage is completely unjustified in my opinion.
There is like 16 different endings and they have left questions unanswered in an universe they almost certainly going to revisit. The 3 main plot lines are resolved amazingly and playing through with different choices definately colour the journey.
Yes the endings are similar but they can't keep the plot of the universe splintering into a multiverse forever as the cost to maintain each choice will become prohibitive and prevent future titles offering other major choices.
As for the DLC Character. It makes perfect sense to offer cut content as premium content, and the fact it was designed along side the main game makes it much more satisfying to play than say Zaeed

Posted:2 years ago

#10

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
@ Craig. I think the problem of "splintering" universes has been solved a million times already through "canon" stories. Prince of Persia managed fine with those and I'm sure any off-shoot of the ME trilogy would be able to do this just as well. Hell, Command and Conquer is basically founded off this principle!

Not wanting to go into the discussion about quality of the endings and such but I'm pretty sure there are only three endings - yes, the surviving members might be different but the actual pre-rendered endings themselves only reflected a couple of those people.

Posted:2 years ago

#11

Andreas Gschwari
Senior Games Designer

559 608 1.1
Technically speaking there are 16 endings. Though they are all initiated through 3 options.

The difference in endings are very minor and, since there is no actual closure, the differences don't matter at all. Particularly not because Bioware has already stated that ME3 will close the story arc, so anything that happens in the 3rd will not affect any other games set in the same universe.

http://www.ign.com/wikis/mass-effect-3/Endings

Also note that in order to get the "good" and "perfect" ending the player is required to play co-op or use the IOS app. which probably is my biggest issue with the design of the game.

Posted:2 years ago

#12

Paolo Giunti
Localisation Project Manager

42 8 0.2
I'm one of the many who expressed dissatisfaction with the ending. The appeal of the ME series was actually in giving the player the impression of making a difference, shaping the story... and it's primarily on this aspect that the end falls miserably short.
I understand they run out of time and had to wrap it up, somehow. But that didn't make the last 10 minutes feel any better.

That said, I find bringing the issue to legal authorities taking it too far. It's extreme, ridiculous and simply childish.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Paolo Giunti on 20th March 2012 11:47am

Posted:2 years ago

#13

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
***SPOILER WARNING***

So its an epic ending that everyone is stuck on earth and half the galaxy is blown to smitherins? Great job Bioware.

Its ok if there was one ending like that... but I would hope that the idea of the franchise is that your actions influence the outcome how it all ended.

Its such an epic ending that all the squad members probably starve to death on a random planet? Epic that every choice that defines your character throughout 3 games turns out to be waste of fucking time at the end?

And gotta love how all the mass relays blow up. If you played the arrival DLC you will know that when a mass relay blows up. It takes an entire system with it. So if every Mass Relay is destroyed, you can kiss almost every inhabited planet goodbye.

The citidel is gone everything is blown up to shit and we are left with an epic ending were, the universe is left in a state of Anarchy each and every person fending for themselves.

The point to fighting so much is to keep things as close as to the way they were. And the number of war assets gathered could have determined how much you saved. i personally would like to have saved the citidel, the mass relays, more control if the earth survived or not and if shepard lived, with cinematics and dialog showing you whats going on. cause in one ending shepard survives, but we only see his chest under rubble. Yeah, just great... thats my epic reward of an ending... shepard survives and looks like shit, woohoo! Wedont even know if someone pulled him out of there or if he just died there.

Yes Im dissapointed in the ending. No closure whatsoever to a story i was heavily invested on and that I loved so much. I loved these characters. i loved this universe, the lore and history surrounding each of the civilizations and characters. I tried liking the ending. But no matter how many times I beat my head around it, im just left with a big huge hole in how i feel towards it. Because up till the ending, the journey there was a great one. I play the game over and over again because I love the characters. But the ending sucks. It sucks so hard, My only resolve is to make up an ending in my head.

Nice ending.

-R-

PS - I havent forgotten how much Dragon Age 2 dissapointed me. Now this? One more huge mistep like this and Im done with Bioware.

Edited 5 times. Last edit by Rick Lopez on 20th March 2012 1:49pm

Posted:2 years ago

#14

Albert Lee
Studying Epidemiology

6 1 0.2
FTC complaint. Singular. 1 person did this.

Posted:2 years ago

#15

Tommy Thompson
Lecturer in BSc (Hons) Computer Games Programming.

44 28 0.6
If we're really going to start submitting complaints to government bodies for game developers/publishers not satisfying the fans then surely Peter Molyneux will be in The Hague soon for crimes against humanity. </sarcasm>

Posted:2 years ago

#16

Tommy Thompson
Lecturer in BSc (Hons) Computer Games Programming.

44 28 0.6
@Rick

I managed to stop reading your post in the nick of time. Spoiler warning perhaps??

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Tommy Thompson on 20th March 2012 1:41pm

Posted:2 years ago

#17

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
@Tommy...

Sorry, Ill fix that...

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Rick Lopez on 20th March 2012 1:46pm

Posted:2 years ago

#18

Tommy Thompson
Lecturer in BSc (Hons) Computer Games Programming.

44 28 0.6
@Rick: Cheers!

Posted:2 years ago

#19

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
I managed to get the "best" ending without using anything other than an imported character and single player. iOS games and multiplayer are definitely not required.

[edit] Unless I'm missing something - from the ending i chose I saw everything mentioned in those links up thread.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by James Prendergast on 20th March 2012 2:14pm

Posted:2 years ago

#20

Albert Lee
Studying Epidemiology

6 1 0.2
@James Unless your Effective Military Strength was 5000 or higher, you didn't get the "best" ending(s). Of course, all of the endings are so similar, it hardly matters.

To get >= 5000 EMS without iOS or Multiplayer, you need to get every single available point out of Single player. Doable, but difficult.

Posted:2 years ago

#21

Andreas Gschwari
Senior Games Designer

559 608 1.1
@Albert: from what i have seen you can't get 5000 EMS just in the single player. i have not tried to get it yet - as i can't be bothered with a second playthrough. but talking to people that did all the side stuff (even all the "get artifact" thingies) they did not manage to get 5000 EMS.

Judging by everything i read on forums etc. it's not possible.

You can get all 3 options just from the single player but not what many consider the "perfect" ending.

Posted:2 years ago

#22

Paolo Giunti
Localisation Project Manager

42 8 0.2
The problem here isn't just "the ending wasn't happy/epic enough", but, more simply, it didn't draw a conclusion to what YOU did.

I understand those who say that Bioware's writers, as authors, have the right to make any final call on the story. After all, if i write a story myself, i believe that none but me can decide how it ends.

Fine, but ME's situation (as it is for most RPGs) is a bit different. It's more like when you're a GM writing a D&D campaign, that you create for your players to enjoy and not just to express your own creativity.
At the end of the campaign, be it tragic or happy, i would totally expect my players to complain if i don't deliver an epilogue that properly explains the consequences of their actions and what happens to their characters. To some extent, they invested in the story too, took actively part in it, wrote it along with me. And i think they deserve the right to ask for a proper conclusion.

Because of this, i can fully understand those who'd like to change the ending (I'd actually be happy myself if it gets "fixed"), but there's asking for it in a civil manner and there's acting like an immature kid about it, like the guy who wants to bring EA to court.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Paolo Giunti on 20th March 2012 2:40pm

Posted:2 years ago

#23

Andreas Gschwari
Senior Games Designer

559 608 1.1
@Paolo (and others) to be fair this is not going to court. it's a complaint about wrong advertising. EA/Bioware could just be asked to change their advertisement and/or be slapped with a fine.

Posted:2 years ago

#24

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
@ Albert. I pretty much did that. Only missed out on two or three minor quests as far as I know...

Like i said though, I read through the blurb and I had the same choices as the best ending with the collector base destroyed; my chosen ending was the same as described there too - obviously i can't comment on whether or not the other two options would have resulted in the perfect ending for those choices without going back through those last two missions and finding out - something I have no intention of doing.

IIRC, Bioware (for what it's worth) stated a few times that it was possible to get the best ending without using the iOS or MP.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by James Prendergast on 20th March 2012 2:53pm

Posted:2 years ago

#25

Paolo Giunti
Localisation Project Manager

42 8 0.2
@Andreas
I see. Not too familiar with American laws here.
But, even if a bit less extreme than i originally thought, I'm still under the impression that El_Spiko just took the issue way more seriously than he should.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Paolo Giunti on 20th March 2012 2:51pm

Posted:2 years ago

#26

Andreas Gschwari
Senior Games Designer

559 608 1.1
@Albert:
SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER

do not read if you don't want to get spoilers about the ending!



In your ending, Albert, did Shepard and Anderson survive?
The "good" ending is that Anderson dies and Shepard "survives". 4000 EMS
The "perfect" ending is that both survive. 5000 EMS

This can only be achieved when you chose the red ending (destroy the conduit) - blue and green will always result in shepard dying (though Anderson can still survive if you have enough points).

And yes - Bioware stated you could get the "perfect" ending without playing multiplayer or iOS - which is one of the reasons for the complaint.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Andreas Gschwari on 20th March 2012 3:04pm

Posted:2 years ago

#27

Sam Brown
Programmer

235 164 0.7
I've read a shedload of reviews of ME3 and God knows how many forum threads, and from my own experience (as an ME lifer) the major cause of the split between the "hate the ending" and "fine with the ending" camps seems to be the amount of time invested in the previous games. Certainly very few reviewers seem to have saves from ME2, let alone ME1.



Me, having played all the games umpteen times, and read all the books and comics, I was crushed when I got to the end. Tight chest and everything. I was actually quite surprised how much I cared. Clearly I'm too sentimental to be a gamer these days. :)

So if nothing else, that proves that the rest of the game works admirably. And that's the crux of the hate-the-ending argument, it's just so wrong - but only wrong if you're a lifer. "My Shep wouldn't do that!" is the battle cry, and to be perfectly honest they have a point. I know mine wouldn't've.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Sam Brown on 20th March 2012 3:22pm

Posted:2 years ago

#28

Terence Gage
Freelance writer

1,288 120 0.1
Some gamers are becoming such a whiny entitled bunch of feet-stamping children. Every other week it seems that some company or other has to apologise to a stroppy audience who feel hard-done-by because they don't agree with this gameplay element or that plot twist. I appreciate the need to maintain good PR with your audience, but then a vocal minority should never have any say in the direction of a game's development. In my opinion.

Posted:2 years ago

#29

James Wells
Gaming Contributor - digboston.com

72 32 0.4
Oh man... if only I could have filed these complaints back when Battletoads and the original TMNT games on NES were still relevant! THOSE were some true slap-in-the-face game endings.
Sadly, today's gamers are just coming off to the masses as entitled crybabies with stories like these.

Posted:2 years ago

#30

Andreas Gschwari
Senior Games Designer

559 608 1.1
@Terence: what if the vocal minority is actually a vocal majority?

As game developers, who depend on the money of our customers, are we not required, to a certain degree, to deliver games that they enjoy? That does not mean we have to create and write every game in such a way that all players are happy (that would be impossible), but should developers not at least be consistent?

i think the problem most people have is not necessarily that the ending is bad (though i think it is), but mostly with the fact that it deviates so harshly from what gamers have come to expect from the series. And that it actually contradicts a lot of things that were established previously.

With games i think it is essential that we listen, to some degree, to our customers.

Posted:2 years ago

#31

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
@Sam, whilst i understand your point I'm not sure that applies to everyone who dislikes the ending.

********************
** Major Spoilers **

For me, the ending was bad because technically (and i mean that in the technology sense) it was poor. Three "buttons" of fate? A poorly explained cutscene that is basically identical for all three buttons?

It was also literarily poor too: no foreshadowing of the events to take place on the citadel. Thematically the game switched from "pre-destination VS. free will" to "choose one choice out of three idiotic choices that make no sense - and all of which were pre-determined because *I* say so". There was no pay-off for the whole reason behind choosing to fight in ME1 and to a certain extent, ME2.

How did the thing know that Shepard would enter the citadel that particular way and manner if it wasn't even supposed to be at a planet before they were warned by Cerberus (incidentally, i'm pretty sure Anderson's on about stuff in London before we and Cerberus learn about the "trigger" for the crucible)? Why are there magic 'buttons' in that particular location that do things that, apparently, it couldn't do without the crucible? Why is the thing's logic so stupid?! Why can't we engage in reasoning with it like we could with every other situation - even if there was no chance of changing it's warped mind? Why were you able to control the Reapers but not deactivate them instead without being consumed by the event? Why was the citadel able to destroy every AI and piece of advanced tech but not just target the Reapers if it was directly linked to them anyway? Why were we constantly told, over and over again by the Reapers themselves that their purpose was unfathomable by our puny race and then... it was summed up neatly in a single sentence by the thing? Why was nothing explained to us in that moment, allowing us to make a properly informed decision? Why did Shepard just *trust* and believe the thing? No arguments, no back talk... nothing.

That's why i dislike the ending so much. Mainly because it was written and directed so poorly and seemed like it had so little effort and thought given to it in the general context of the games that it felt like nothing before it in the series.

********************

Posted:2 years ago

#32

Josh Meier

40 15 0.4
This guy is not in any way affiliated with the Retake Mass Effect 3 movement. We hate him just as much (if not more than) everyone else. We'd like to see the endings fixed or expanded upon, but we don't want to take Bioware to court over it.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Josh Meier on 20th March 2012 4:21pm

Posted:2 years ago

#33

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
***SPOILER ALERT***

Despite all my dissapointment and frustration over the ending, I enjoyed everything the series offered. I loved the conversation with catalyst, and that song as you spoke to him was epic... but they completely and totally messed it up when they simply offered 3 choices at the end regardless how you played. Its like they resolved all the story choices made by the player, by tying it up to just one event at the end and not have the end branch out based on the choices you made. It felt rushed.

The ending not much changed except for the color of the explosion. i would have wanted to save the citidel and the mass relays, instead of blowing everything up into shit.

To me the ending was pretty vague and did not offer enough closure, nore did your choices matter. Its such an epic ending that all the squad members probably starve to death on a random planet without anyway to travel through the mass relays. Epic that every choice that defines your character throughout 3 games turns out to be waste of fucking time at the end.

Like I previosly mentioned. I loved everything about the games except the ending. I continue to play, completely immersed in the universe, characters and story bioware created. But im gutted, frustrated and dissapointed about the ending to the point were my only resolve is to come up with one in my head.

-R-

Posted:2 years ago

#34

Paolo Giunti
Localisation Project Manager

42 8 0.2
@Sam:
Same here. Finished the game late at night and went to sleep feeling like someone punched me repeatedly in the stomach.

Akris, on DeviantArt, responded to the disappointment quite creatively, writing his own 4th option to the ending (http://arkis.deviantart.com/art/Mass-Effect-3-Alternate-Endings-SPOILERS-289902125)
Heh, personally, felt good reading that.

Posted:2 years ago

#35

Kevin Danaher
Associate Producer

45 62 1.4
It seems like everyone has an opinion on this and calling disgruntled fans whiners is commonplace so I just want to throw in my two cents worth.
I wont be one of those fans that is demanding a new ending. In fact my Bioware loyalty mission had already ended long before ME3 was released. I only bought ME3 because I was invested in the story. Within half an hour of starting ME2 I literally said "WTF is this, where's my game gone? This is Gears of Mass Effect!"
Their change of direction generally and loss of identity since essentially becoming EA is horrific and is a terrible loss to the creative industry.

When finishing ME3 I was literally like "WTF! Shepherd wouldn't accept that there was no other option and thus be lead into essentially doing what she's told by the final arch nemesis." I won't go into any more detail than that for spoiler purposes.

I was incredibly disappointed in the ending, the choices I made throughout ME1 and 2 affected the whole state of the galaxy right up to that point and then they rushed an ending in that basically said "Forget all that sh*# though, that story we've worked so hard on... that's not important. Now pick a card, they're all jacks."

I'll be voicing my opinion about this by simply not buying anything else Bioware makes and I think a lot of fans feel the same. This probably means that they'll disappear as an actual studio and just become another EA label (already kinda happening). Sad days... they used to be so great. They actually got all the gameplay right in this one, just forgot how important the narrative was. Unfortunately that's what they used to be known for honouring so carefully, hence the anger I imagine.

Edited 3 times. Last edit by Kevin Danaher on 20th March 2012 4:43pm

Posted:2 years ago

#36

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
The way the ending turned out would leave it setup very well for any sequel that is set after ME3 while it did finish off the story of Shepard and the Reapers and thats what Bioware promised, to finish his story arc off and thats what they did. Its not like 1 and 2 had more innovative endings, they had 2 slightly different endings depending on what you choose in the last conversation.

Posted:2 years ago

#37

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
@ Paolo...

I liked that link you posted... (http://arkis.deviantart.com/art/Mass-Effect-3-Alternate-Endings-SPOILERS-289902125)

It would really play out well that ending and offer lots of closure... it would allow for use of the crucible in any of the 3 ways to be one ending and a deception of the reapers. In shepard refusing to use it it would offer another alternative ending with minimal changes to the story and the ending we desire.

I would also like to see more of the War assets play a part in the ending, like the Rachni.

it was a great read, everyone around here should give it a shot.

Posted:2 years ago

#38

Morville O'Driscoll
Blogger & Critic

1,536 1,339 0.9
Well, having not given any money to EA (until they release ME3 on Steam :p ), I can't comment on the ending personally. But for anyone who thinks gamers are "entitled", have a read of both this

www.gamefront.com/mass-effect-3-ending-hatred-5-reasons-the-fans-are-right/1/

and

http://blog.brentknowles.com/2012/03/11/mass-effect-3-and-day-one-dlc/

in comments for the latter, Brent Knowles says this. I'm quoting it here, because it's damn important:

"Entitlement is really a right, for the gamer, because they have participated, actively, in the game itself.

...

1. Reward the player's choices throughout the series. The big stuff they did should be noted. They should *feel* like they had a unique impact on the world.

2. End on a positive note. This is really important for video games... life in general is full of shitty stuff happening all the time. When I invest a hundred hours into a game I need to walk away feeling like a hero.

When you waste a couple hours of a person's life with an artsy/depressing movie or short story or even a novel, it is more forgivable because the time spent is less. And presumably the consumer knew what they were going into when they started. Certain directors create certain styles of movie. Certain writers write specific types of fiction.

On the other hand somebody playing an epic role-playing video-game trilogy is going to *expect* to be the hero and save the universe. That's why they are playing the game. When expectations don't match reality, disappointment is created.

It might be an artistic/creative move to go with a different style of ending but I feel its the wrong choice, especially for a videogame *trilogy*. Make your middle game bleak if you want to, but end the series on a high note""

I'd put other stuff, but to be honest, I can't top either article/link, so I won't. :)

Posted:2 years ago

#39

Albert Lee
Studying Epidemiology

6 1 0.2
@Andreas Oh, I played the heck out of the MP. I did every quest I could manage, but only scraped up ~6500 EMS at 100% readiness.

I just assumed Bioware wasn't lying about the ability to get the best end single player. >_>

Posted:2 years ago

#40

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
It did end on a positiv note if you watch the after credits ending. What strikes me with that ending outrage is that neither ME1 or 2 had your decisions an impact on the ending you haf two possible endings that had some variations but it didnt had an effect what your choices where. You could save the council or not, you could blow up the collectors base or not with some variations of what team members survive. ME 3 doesnt deviate from that formula except for how you make the decision. Nobody complaint about how you made the final decision in Deus Ex: HR when for the rest of the game yoi made decision by srlecting an option on the wheel.

***Spoiler***

Actually thinking about Deus Ex I'm surprised that the main complaint isnt that that final part was basicaly a copy of Deus Ex: HR and its ending system and even its ending I basicaly got the same ending for both. Somebody should make a comparison between Deus Ex HR endings and ME3 ending. VI tells you about your options? Check. Walk to the option you want to take? Check. Option 1 get Augmentation banned (aka technology destroyed), close enough to the destruction ending. Option 2 and 3 keeping the augmentations but having the strongly regulated (aka being in "control"), far fetched from the control ending. Option 4 self destruct the facility and destroy all evidence leading to babies already born with augmentations (aka humans and machines are fused together from birth), not that hugely different in the outcome of combining machine and organics. The themes are kind of the same, but I might just imagining things here now. :D

Edited 3 times. Last edit by Private on 20th March 2012 6:54pm

Posted:2 years ago

#41

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 942 0.7
@ Morville O'Driscoll - I read both links, very interesting... I hope bioware has read them. Read this one... (http://arkis.deviantart.com/art/Mass-Effect-3-Alternate-Endings-SPOILERS-289902125)its an alternate ending someone came up with that I find very good.

As far as entitlement goes....

WHAT I WOULD HAVE WANTED: Im ok with having the ending as it is in the game, but I would like the choice of something better depending on how I played. After I do enjoy playing as a renegade being an asshole to people in the game. So maybe the reaper control ending would suit a gamer who takes that route. But for the gamer who wants to be the hero or to save everybody they should have that choice. I wish i did, I cared for the characters...

As far as entitlement. Nobody is entitled to nothing. If you dont like it dont play it. dont buy it.

Me i choose to play it. I love that game. I just think the ending sucks and is a huge dissapointment and Im 'Hoping" bioware addresses this. But am I entitled to tell someone how to create stuff... absolutly not.

But as the creator of the game, all this backlash on the ending just shows how much people liked and cared for their game and their work. If I were Bioware, i would address this.

I wouldnt mind having to purchase an aditional DLC like I did for arrival... but it would be nice for the DLC to be free for people who bought the game. On release.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Rick Lopez on 20th March 2012 6:55pm

Posted:2 years ago

#42

Josh Meier

40 15 0.4
***SPOILER WARNING***

@Werner Nemetz

That ending works with Deus Ex because the only character that gets major development is the main character.

In Mass Effect, the game is meant to make you care about your entire squad. How many players can honestly say they care about Shepard past being a plot advancement tool? The real meat of the game comes with EVERYONE ELSE involved.

When the game fails to tell you what happens to all those war assets you accrued, all those relationships you've made and all the political decisions you made, it fails as a story. It might be excusable in a movie where you only invest a few hours, but in Mass Effect you will undoubtedly spend nearly 100 hours (or more if you have multiple playthroughs) playing through the series.

This would be like if in an episode of Star Trek, Q comes out of no where and gives Picard 3 options, all of which screw over everyone by removing their ability to use Warp Drive, and Picard just accepts those 3 options as the only options available. It just wouldn't be in his character to accept that and it's not in Shepard's character to accept what the 'catalyst' offers either.

Posted:2 years ago

#43

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
In all three games the decisions the player can make every time comes done to option A or Option B and rarely option C it`s never like so Shepard (the player) anyway always accepted the options they where given as the only viable options possible.

I don`t mind the open ending, I would like to know what happens to all of them but that will probably be answered with some DLC or with the sequel. If they can make post ending DLC where you control different characters and get to see how things turn out for them that would be interessting and I would take that over a couple of minutes more cutscenes.

Btw. people who think they where rushed to finish the game and blame that for the ending are wrong since those endings where in the leaked script already.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Private on 20th March 2012 10:18pm

Posted:2 years ago

#44

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

735 432 0.6
@ Werner. If you think people didn't complain or felt let down by the ending of Deus Ex: Human Revolution then you never had many critical discussions with a large number of players of the game. People *did* feel like it was cheap and short and overly simplistic.

However, that said, I never saw anyone make the argument that the endings were out of place with the rest of the game. Thematically they were good endings because they fit in with the themes of the game: control, freedom, choice etc. They made sense and they were easily understood because we'd been discussing them for the entirety of the game thus far.

In ME3, the themes of the game are dropped completely. The link from Morville probably describes this thematic imbalance better than I could in the same space:
http://blog.brentknowles.com/2012/03/11/mass-effect-3-and-day-one-dlc/

Also, i think it's wrong to confuse the argument being about the *number* of endings, it's the context and content of those choices offered. Just because the conversation wheel was usually two to three choices has no impact on the content of those choices.
Yes, you're right in one sense: The player always accepts that the choices offered are the only ones. However, the choices offered up until that point in the last moments were role-played by Shepard and the events surrounding those choices. They always made sense in that context. The final moments did not make sense. Shepard's character (as written by Bioware) is specific - across both renegade and paragon "builds": he/she is questioning, headstrong, full of belief and never accepts things "as they are". In those last moments Shepard is none of those things. He/she has a failure of character because he/she is not present in any way in that last conversation.

Edited 2 times. Last edit by James Prendergast on 21st March 2012 10:13am

Posted:2 years ago

#45

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
Depends on the point of view. I was always playing paragon and Shep basicaly always did what others told him to do because he is a good little soldier. The feeling I got from my Shep is that he does what he is told to do across all 3 games and that he believes there is a place for every race in the universe.

***SPOILER***

The big themes for me where extinction by the reapers, the creation and rise and subsequent fight against AI`s (as is also told by the Protheian when he talks about his time) and different races living together and getting into fights (as is also told by Prothy the Prothian). I played paragon, told the Quarians in ME2 they shoudln`t fight the Geth but they did and saved both races in ME3 to build a future together and went with the synergy (green) ending and it was fitting for how I played the game. The outcome was fitting for the way I played to have peace between syntetics and organics once and for all. Destruction was never an option because I could never kill EDI and after thinking over it for a few minutes control wasn`t an option because I didn`t trust the catalyst :D Besides, his fleet is getting torn into pieces by the reapers, he is almost dead and he tried anything he could to stop the reapers with to effect so what else can Shep do? Also I think he did ask the catalyst if there is not other option to end this conflict.

Posted:2 years ago

#46
I am really shocked by several statements here I have to admit.

Many players keep complaining about the industry spiraling out of control and tricking them into paying more and more with DLCs, while the contents get rushed so hard that they lack quality.
Though i don't agree with everything, the gamer/customer is what makes that industry, discussing whether or not they have the right to complain about the product that they paid good money for(regarding the ME franchise think of all the additional DLCs) and even getting mad about them being frustrated with a franchhise they spent several hours/days with is just really really the wrong way for the industry. The gap between costumers and the industry is spreading and it should be the industry to make a step toward the costumers. How can you even discuss whether the costumers should get active if tehy are not happy with their products? No matter which industry, of course they should. Every industry exists to staisfy the customers needs not the other way around!

To ME3: The ending wasn't great, which was a little disappointing, regarding ME 2 being so epic. I think it fit Sheppard though. What really frustrated me though was how they "showed Tali's face". They have been building that scene up over several games now, and then they just show some random picture... I really enjoyed the rest of ME3 though!

Edited 4 times. Last edit by Konstantin Hohl on 22nd March 2012 3:59pm

Posted:2 years ago

#47

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now