Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga loses top Facebook slot to OMGPOP

Zynga loses top Facebook slot to OMGPOP

Fri 16 Mar 2012 9:56pm GMT / 5:56pm EDT / 2:56pm PDT
MobileOnline

Draw Something has pushed Words with Friends down the charts

Zynga's Words with Friends is no longer the lead game on Facebook, with the new crown going to OMGPOP's Draw Something. According to AppData, the latter game has exploded out of nowhere and currently sits at 10.8 million daily active users up from just under 2 million at the beginning of March. Words With Friends sulks at 8.6 million, down from a recent high of 9 million.

appdata

A snapshot of today's DAU chart from AppData.

It's a blow to Zynga, who's been trying to find the next big thing for quite some time now. On the bright side, the publisher still has the top spot for monthly active users, with CityVille clocking in at 46.2 million.

TechCrunch notes this is also a problem for Facebook, as both games are played primarily on mobile platforms like Android or iOS. Combined with the recent launch of Zynga Platform, it looks like the industry is trying to move away from being completely reliant on the social network.

2 Comments

Bruce Everiss
Marketing Consultant

1,692 594 0.4
Zynga are far more copied than they themselves copy.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Private
Industry

1,176 182 0.2
That would require that Zynga did even one think they came up with and looking at their products I dont see anything thats not a copie.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now