Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Foxconn inspected at Apple's request

Mon 13 Feb 2012 3:48pm GMT / 10:48am EST / 7:48am PST
Hardware

Notorious Chinese manufacturing centre to receive Fair Labor Association audit

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

The Fair Labor Association has responded to a request from Apple, and will begin to inspect the Foxconn manufacturing plant this week.

"We believe that workers everywhere have the right to a safe and fair work environment, which is why we've asked the FLA to independently assess the performance of our largest suppliers," said Apple CEO.

"The inspections now under way are unprecedented in the electronics industry, both in scale and scope, and we appreciate the FLA agreeing to take the unusual step of identifying the factories in their reports."

Foxconn manufactures hardware for a number of industry titans, including Apple, Sony and Microsoft. If the name is familiar it's almost certainly due to the negative press the Chinese factory has received regarding the treatment of its workers.

The inspection will include interviews with the workers and management and checks of both working and living areas, as many of the staff live in dormitory style accommodation.

Combined with inspections of Quanta and Pagatron, this will mean that over 90 per cent of Apple's manufactured products will be from an FLA checked facility.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now