Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft pursuing owners of Halo 4 beta 'phishing' site

Mon 30 Jan 2012 10:17am GMT / 5:17am EST / 2:17am PST
BusinessLegal

URL for scam still active, says publisher - Halo 4 beta invites not yet live

Microsoft has warned customers not to accept any offers of Halo 4 beta testing spots just yet, as the site which is offering them is a fake, believed to be involved in a phishing scam for customer data.

Halo4beta.net was apparently closed down after Microsoft noticed its activity, and 343 Industries' David Ellis warned Halo fans via Twitter, but the publisher has now issued a complaint via the National Arbitration Forum which it hopes will see the site's URL confiscated, reports Fusible.

To win the case and have the site shut down permanently, Microsoft must prove that it was registered and developed with malicious intent, in this case the acquisition of personal details through misleading means and infringement of copyright.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now