Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Roblox sees 109 per cent increase in user generated content

Fri 27 Jan 2012 10:38am GMT / 5:38am EST / 2:38am PST
GamesOnline

While vice president of marketing exits company after one year

Roblox, an online community that allows users to build their own 3D games, has seen a 109 per cent increase on 2010's number of created games. In 2011, 5.4 million were made.

"Roblox is about giving our players the tools and freedom to put their imaginations into action," said CEO David Baszucki.

"It's amazing to see what these players can do, and all that they've accomplished in 2011. They have been building, sharing, and competing, using the skills they've picked up from Roblox, and their passion for learning really shows with these numbers. We've seen an increase in usage by teens, young adults and parents as we have released more complex building tools and materials."

By December 2011 20 million accounts had been registered and 250 million hours of game time logged, with 7 million unique users per month. $6 million worth of the game's virtual currency, Robux, were also exchanged.

According to VentureBeat, Clint Schmidt, vice president of marketing for the past year, has left the company.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now