Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Green Man Gaming latest to join Gaikai

Thu 12 Jan 2012 2:50pm GMT / 9:50am EST / 6:50am PST
RetailOnline

Digital distributor signs up for game streaming service

Could gaming service Gaikai will now stream selected demos to the sites of digital distributor Green Man Gaming.

"We are delighted to be partnering with Green Man Gaming in streaming our growing portfolio of triple A titles to their customers," said senior vice president of interactive gaming for Gaikai, Robert Stevenson.

"GMG has demonstrated great growth and we anticipate that our streaming service will further accelerate their digital business."

The service, which is already used by sites like Eurogamer.net and US retailer Walmart, will allow visitors to GMG websites to play a selection of titles before purchase, whatever the specifications of their home computer.

"Gaikai's seamless streaming experience will help our customers reach a decision on the right games to buy," added Paul Sulyok, GMG managing director.

"We realise money is tight, so we're committed to offering gamers our best prices.  Our partnership with Gaikai gives consumers a great chance to instantly sample if a game is for them before parting with their hard earned cash. It's incredibly exciting to see Gaikai teaming up with a young, hungry online retailer in Green Man Gaming, alongside heavyweight publishers, retailers and media brands."

Green Man Gaming was founded in 2010 and offers 900 titles to 146 countries.

Gaikai caused a stir at this year's CES with the suggestion that either Microsoft or Sony would quit the console business at this year's E3.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now