Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA turns KlickNation acquisition into BioWare Social

Fri 02 Dec 2011 7:56am GMT / 2:56am EST / 11:56pm PST
Business

Age of Champions dev to create RPGs for social networks

Electronic Arts has acquired social games firm KlickNation and added it to the BioWare group.

Now named BioWare Social, the team will create role-playing games for the social networks under the leadership of KlickNation CEO Mark Otero.

"KlickNation's expertise in building innovative and compelling RPGs for social platforms makes them a seamless tuck-in with the BioWare team at EA," said Ray Muzyka, senior vice president of EA's BioWare label.

"We share the same creative values. The new BioWare Social unit will bring BioWare and EA franchises to the growing audience of core gamers who are looking for high quality, rich gameplay experiences on social platforms."

KlickNation released it first game, SuperHero City, in 2009 and most recently released Six Gun Galaxy. The fate of these titles has not been made clear, but monthly active users across KlickNation titles have dropped from a peak of 1.3 million to around 400,000.

"While developing social RPG experiences, we held BioWare as a role model for storytelling and game design," added Mark Otero, now GM of BioWare Social.

"Joining with BioWare and EA is an opportunity to realize our vision for bringing high-quality RPG titles to the fast-growing, highly-engaged core gamers looking for deeper experiences on social platforms."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now