Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony founds Play Community social network

Thu 17 Nov 2011 8:25am GMT / 3:25am EST / 12:25am PST

Publisher expands PlayStation Japan portal with new features

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has revealed a new section of its PlayStation.jp web portal: a new social networking area known as Play Community.

In it, PlayStation fans can sign up and use many of the features of other social networks such as friend making, messaging and forming groups, reports Andriasang.

All users will have their own profile page and will be able to arrange online games with other members.

To sign up, users will need to be a member of the PlayStation network.

Sony is also giving away a new PlayStation Vitas to three users who sign up, make at least three friends and post a comment at this post on the Sony blog.

2 Comments

Harrison Smith Studying Games and Graphics Programming, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology

75 4 0.1
umm SONY launching there own social network, wonder how it goes in Japan, if they combine there media empire into it, I cant see why it couldn't gather a following, especially in Japan, maybe combine it with PS home.

Posted:3 years ago

#1
Japan already has strong social networks eg. GREE

its a tough market to penetrate

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now