Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Mac version and a million sold for Limbo

Fri 11 Nov 2011 10:34am GMT / 5:34am EST / 2:34am PST
Development

Playdead's gloomy game reaches 153 countries, and will soon be headed for Mac

Danish developer Playdead has sold one million copies of its dark puzzler Limbo, and is planning a Mac release before the end of the year.

The downloads of the game on Steam, PSN and XBLA have allowed Playdead to buy out the investors that supported it early on.

"With the success that Limbo has achieved, we felt this was the ideal time to fully regain our independence," said CEO Dino Patti.

"We are grateful to everyone who supported us over the past few years, and look forward to forging new partnerships that will both let us reach new heights as a studio and give our director, Arnt Jensen, room to grow creatively."

Arnt Jensen founded Playdead with Patti in 2007, and also spent some time as a concept artist with IO Interactive.

According to Playdead, Limbo has reached 153 different countries, in nine different languages. The company is currently working on its next project, which will use the Unity engine.

2 Comments

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 421 0.3
I'm really glad it did well, it was a brilliant game, and I'm also glad that they could buy themselves back. I hope their new title lives up to my high expectations. No pressure peeps.

Posted:3 years ago

#1
I concur, Limbo is a lovely piece of work. I'm so happy it was a success.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now