Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mindshapes secures $5 million investment

Tue 01 Nov 2011 11:36am GMT / 7:36am EDT / 4:36am PDT
Education

Child education app and browser game specialist to expand

Mindshapes, a developer specialising in apps and browser games aimed at child education, has secured a $5 million round of series A funding from investors and angels.

The cash will be used to expand the company business and consolidate existing revenue streams, as well as launching two new major games: Magic Town and Language City.

"We are passionate about using the latest technology and contemporary educational thinking to change the way that children learn around the world," commented CEO David Begg.

"This investment will accelerate our plans to become the world's most trusted digital publisher of high quality educational games, books and learning worlds as we continue to expand."

Mindshapes currently has seven apps at market on the App Store. The company was founded by some of the team responsible for founding Playfish before that company was sold to EA.

5 Comments

Colin Walsh
Director

2 0 0.0
Congrats guys - great bunch - I'm sure you will do very well!

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Benjamin Royce
Consultant

14 0 0.0
Great news however correct me if I'm wrong wasn't Playfish sold to EA not Disney??

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Dan Pearson
European Editor

81 102 1.3
Sorry, minor brainfreeze - was thinking of PlayDom. Fixed!

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Simon Hope
Senior Games Recruitment Consultant

6 2 0.3
Great news! Really good team over at Mindshapes and I'm sure this will allow them to grow from strength to strength.

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Gabriel Pendleton
Unity Developer

7 0 0.0
Congrats! Always good to see industry growth and success.

Posted:2 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now