Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Hasbro wrestles D&D license from Atari

Tue 16 Aug 2011 7:40am GMT / 3:40am EDT / 12:40am PDT
LegalPublishing

Case settled out of court, Atari will continue to develop under D&D license

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

The lawsuit between Hasbro Inc. and Atari Corp. over the Dunegons & Dragons license has been settled out of court.

According to a report on Gamasutra, Hasbro and its subsidiary Wizards of the Coast have been awarded full control of the property. Full details of the settlement have not been released.

Hasbro began legal action with a charge of fraud in December 2009, accusing Atari of entering, "an unauthorised sublicensing relationship with Namco Bandai Partners (NBP) for the Dungeons & Dragons digital game rights."

Atari responded by calling the allegations "meritless" and part of, "an apparent attempt to unfairly take back rights granted to Atari."

Hasbro has confirmed that Atari will continue to develop and manages games based on the Dungeons & Dragons license.

Atari also announced that the sale of Cryptic Studios to Perfect World has caused the release of Cryptic's Neverwinter to be delayed until late 2012.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now