Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Valve launches Steam Trading beta

Wed 10 Aug 2011 8:55am GMT / 4:55am EDT / 1:55am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

Allows trading of in-game items and Gift games in Team Fortress 2, other games to follow

Valve has launched the Steam Trading Beta, a new system that allows users to trade Steam Gifts and in-game items.

The beta currently only applies to Team Fortress 2, but, according to a FAQ on Steam, " Portal 2 should be reasonably soon and we hope to have several third-party games in the next few months."

Along with in-game items, any game purchased in the Steam Store as a Gift, or received as an "Extra Copy", can be traded with other users. Only unopened Gift games will be accepted in the system.

A new checkout option has been introduced to the Steam Store that allows users to save a Gift for trading at the point of purchase.

The news follows Blizzard's introduction of an auction house in Diablo 3 that allows players to sell loot for real currency.

2 Comments

Harley Gresham Game Design graduate seeking employment

9 0 0.0
It seems logical to launch this actually, I've seen many people trade games for items (yes, virtual hats!) so this just cuts out the dodgey middle man. I hope this works out well for everyone involved.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Tim Carter Designer - Writer - Producer

578 322 0.6
Middle men aren't dodgy. They provide a service like any other.

Unless you don't ever use stores, of course. (They are middlemen too.)

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now