Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo UK signs Wi-Fi deal with The Cloud

Tue 09 Aug 2011 11:39am GMT / 7:39am EDT / 4:39am PDT
HardwareOnline

3DS users to get free access to 5,000 UK hotspots

Nintendo UK has formed a new partnership with UK Wi-Fi provide The Cloud, allowing 3DS users to access 5,000 hotspots for free.

"The Cloud partnership represents another exciting step that will continue to expand its appeal and encourage owners to take their Nintendo 3DS systems with them wherever they go, offering different and unique experiences everyday," said Nintendo UK marketing director Dawn Paine.

From today the access points allow 3DS owners to access content via the Nintedo SpotPass service, access the Nintendo eSHop or just browse the internet.

"Nintendo is a fantastic addition to our list of strategic partners and site owners who are making the most of Wi-Fiís potential to give their customers a better entertainment experience," added Steve Nicholson, The Cloud's managing director.

"If gamers are going to play outside of their home, itís essential they have a fast and reliable internet connection. This is what Wi-Fi offers compared to a technology such as 3G, which struggles to handle really rich, data-hungry video content."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now