Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Lolapps acquires Fliso Engine from Sean Cooper

Fri 01 Jul 2011 7:45am GMT / 3:45am EDT / 12:45am PDT
Developer ToolsOnlineCasual

Bullfrog veteran Cooper to join Lolapps as Chief Flash Architect

6waves Lolapps media

With over 40 million active users per month, Lolapps has the largest network of social games and applications...

lolapps.com

Social game developer Lolapps has acquired the Fliso Engine, the popular middleware tool commonly used for Flash development of isometric games.

The engine was acquired from creator Sean Cooper and will be rebranded as the Lolapps Fliso Engine. With a history dating back to the early '90s, the engine is able to display more onscreen characters and animations than alternative technologies -while also performing well at high frame rates on low end systems.

Lolapps itself already uses the engine in titles such as Ravenwood Fair, with the Fliso Engine currently being licensed by four out of the top five social game developers.

As a result of the acquisition Sean Cooper will join Lolapps as Chief Flash Architect, reporting directly to CEO Arjun Sethi. Cooper is a veteran of British developer Bullfrog Productions and Electronic Arts, but has worked in the online casual market since 2005.

"The team at Sean Cooper Games is well-known for its thought leadership in Flash engine performance and its creativity in developing highly-regarded Flash games such as Boxhead and the Shadez series," said Sethi.

"We're excited to incorporate the Lolapps Fliso Engine into future Lolapps titles and third party titles by developers looking to get the most out of the Flash platform. This acquisition continues Lolapps' focus on bringing the highest levels of quality possible to social games."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now