Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Teenage hacker charges unrelated to gaming

Thu 23 Jun 2011 8:59am GMT / 4:59am EDT / 1:59am PDT
PeopleOnline

19 year old appearing in court today under Computer Misuse Act

Bethesda Softworks

The Bethesda Softworks division, founded in 1986, has a long history of success as a developer and publisher...

bethsoft.com

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Ryan Cleary, the 19 year old hacker from Essex, will be in court today on Computer Misuse Act charges, but is apparently unconnected to recent attacks on industry sites.

The official statement from the Metropolitan Police lists the charges as relating to Distributed Denial of Service attacks on the Serious Organised Crime Agency, the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry and the British Phonographic Industry.

Hacker group Lulzsec claimed responsibility for the SOCA attack, leading to suggestions that Cleary was part of the collective, but the group used its Twitter to publicly distance itself from the teenager.

"Ignorant press have failed to realize that actual authorities - i.e. Scotland Yard - didn't imply in the slightest that Ryan was LulzSec," it said. "They charge him with the SOCA attack, maybe he hit SOCA after we did? It was suspiciously down again after we let it up."

Lulzsec has admitted to hacking into the sites or user records of Sony, Nintendo, Bethesda as well as online games Minecraft, League of Legends and Eve Online.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now