Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayStation Home space Aurora clocks 1m visits in 6 weeks

Wed 22 Jun 2011 10:38am GMT / 6:38am EDT / 3:38am PDT
Online

Free virtual destination benefits from PSN Welcome Back promotion

PlayStation Home virtual environment Aurora has seen over a million visits in just six weeks, according to publisher nDreams.

Appearing as a floating archipelago within PlayStation Home, Aurora is free to enter and allows visitors to play games, win rewards and purchase their own islands.

During the launch nDreams ran a competition called Aurora War in which over 300,000 players from around the world competed against each other.

As part of the PlayStation Network Welcome Back pack Sony are currently offering a free Aurora Orbrunner. In the future nDreams plans to open new areas, games and events, as well as Web browser support.

"We're very proud of Aurora and the success it has had so far. We certainly didn't expect to have so many visitors in such a short timeframe," said nDreams CEO Patrick O'Luanaigh.

"The space itself is still in a very early stage; we have so much more planned for Aurora, and we'll be adding to it regularly.

"We're huge proponents of virtual worlds and believe they offer a great way to escape from the stresses and strains of real-life without having to jump on a plane. And we believe that the next decade will see rapid growth in the number and the quality of virtual world experiences available online."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now