Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Majesco acquires Quick Hit assets and team

Tue 07 Jun 2011 2:46pm GMT / 10:46am EDT / 7:46am PDT
PeoplePublishing

Ex-turbine CEO Jeffrey Anderson joins in push to extend social capacity

Publisher Majesco has acquired staff and assets from online developer Quick Hit in a so-called aquihire agreement.

Joining Majesco as senior vice president of social games is former Turbine CEO Jeffrey Anderson, who was previously heading up Quick hit, where he'd helped to bring successful free-to-play NFL title Quickhit NFL Football to fruition. The Quick Hit development team has also joined Majesco as part of the deal.

Anderson will oversee all future online and social projects for Majesco, as well as those currently in existence, such as Cooking Mama Friends' Café, Parking Wars 2 and Bananagrams.

"Social gaming is an exploding sector and our acquisition of Quick Hit allows us to take a leadership role in developing top free-to-play titles," said Majesco CEO Jesse Sutton.

"We've always felt that having our own development team was critical to building the know-how needed to succeed in the social games market. I am ecstatic that we were able to land a group of this calibre and a seasoned executive in Jeff Anderson in such a competitive marketplace."

"Majesco's social games plan is exciting and their past experience identifying and bringing major brands to gaming fits well with our collective vision of the free-to-play space," said Anderson himself. "We are looking forward to leading Majesco's online and mobile strategy into the future."

As part of the deal, a number of Majesco shares have been distributed to ten of the development staff who have moved over to Majesco as part of the deal.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now