Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

South East Asia to double revenues by 2014 - report

Thu 27 Jan 2011 10:53am GMT / 5:53am EST / 2:53am PST
Emerging MarketsBusiness

Niko Partners paper predicts 90 million gamers generating over $830 million

A new paper from Asian research specialist Niko Partners is predicting that videogame revenues are set to more than double in the South East Asian markets between now and 2014.

In total, the firm believes that there will be more than 90 million gamers across the six countries - Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam - with overall revenue jumping from $406 million this year to $833 million in four years' time.

The region is dominated by online games, a sector which managing partner Lisa Cosmas Hanson believes will be a big opportunity for publishers.

"The Southeast Asian Game Market Regional Report presents essential data by country and with regional comparisons for any company looking to enter or expand share in the games market in Asia," she said. "With online games market revenue growth surpassing even the blistering growth in the number of gamers in the region over the next several years, there are real opportunities for online game publishers to capture market share and be a ship on the rising tide.

"This regional report is ideal for determining what countries to prioritize beyond the Asian giants of China, Korea and Japan."

The 45-page report is now available for $4500.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now