Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Online-only PC title Magicka sells 30k on day-one

By Alec Meer

Thu 27 Jan 2011 8:09am GMT / 3:09am EST / 12:09am PST

$10 Paradox title reaches number 1 on Steam

Paradox's fantasy title Magicka has sold 30,000 units within its first day of release. The PC game is currently only available for online purchase.

The $9.99 Swedish-made game reached number one in Steam's chart, though was also available on other download services.

Magicka has drawn some criticism for its bugginess, but developer Arrowhead is committed to a 24 hour rolling release schedule for patches.

Arrowhead CEO Johan Pilestedt told GamaSutra that "We would've been happy if a couple of thousand people bought the game, or if 30,000 were the total sales for the whole period."

From Recommendations by Taboola


Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

961 187 0.2
Me and a friend were trying the demo, considering a purchase. Humour is weird but they obviously put a lot of thought into the gameplay.

Posted:4 years ago


Ivan Garde Product Manager, wooga GmbH

2 0 0.0
Buggy indeed, but the dynamic magic system really make up for this game. A system that lets you be creative while exploding goblins deserve this kind of numbers

Posted:4 years ago


Jesse Lord Studying Game Software Development, Westwood College

2 0 0.0
I purchased it and am really enjoying the creativity. It is buggy and multiplayer is a pita right now. But, if they are dedicated and can get it fixed then they will be just fine.

Posted:4 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now