Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

VU Games set to bring Robert Ludlum titles to next-gen consoles

Wed 10 Aug 2005 2:03pm GMT / 10:03am EDT / 7:03am PDT

Next generation videogames based on Robert Ludlum's best-selling spy action novels are on the way, after Vivendi Universal Games secured the exclusive global rights to publish titles based on the internationally renowned author's works.

The financial terms of the 'long-term' deal were not disclosed, but the move gives VUG the green light to work on multi-platform titles based on Ludlum's most famous works and their related movies. Most recently, Ludlum's books spawned huge box office hits in the shape of The Bourne Identity and The Bourne Supremacy.

It is not yet known which titles are being worked on, but it's safe to suggest the multi-platform titles will occupy a similar action-adventure space to titles such as Splinter Cell. VUG said it would make a further announcement "at a later date".

VUG's CEO Bruce Hack described himself as "thrilled" to have tied up the deal with the 290 million-selling author, whose properties he regards as "some of the most exciting spy-action franchises ever created."

"The interest in Robert Ludlum's works is enormous," he enthused, "as evidenced by the worldwide popularity and commercial success of his books and movies.

Hack added that VU Games intended to "aggressively" push Ludlum as a "top-tier" gaming brand that will "go head-to-head with other major spy-action games in the industry" - a clear reference to success Ubisoft has had with its Tom Clancy range over the past seven years.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now