Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Vivendi Universal signs 50 Cent to headline new action title

Wed 02 Mar 2005 4:43pm GMT / 11:43am EST / 8:43am PST

US rappers 50 Cent and Dr Dre are set to star in a new videogame from Vivendi Universal games, which will place them and fellow rap stars in a Max Payne-esque in an action-packed interactive odyssey through the criminal underworld.

The existence of the game has been revealed by a computer-generated teaser trailer released on MTV.com this week, which also reveals the title - 50 Cent: Bulletproof. We can almost taste the irony, given the number of times he's been shot.

The CG clip boasts some extremely impressive combat choreography as the rapper follows a crime lord into a skyscraper and tears up his penthouse, ducking out from behind cover to fire, then running out of ammo and chucking his pistol at a guard's head.

However, there's little information beyond that - with no word on target platforms, release dates or even how the game will play, although the MTV.com site mentions that we can expect "additional tracks, voices and likenesses of Dr. Dre and other G-Unit members".

50 Cent will obviously contribute music for the game, and fans will be interested to learn that some of that will be freestyle rhymes that can be mixed in the game's "music lab".

According to MTV.com, 50 Cent actually turned down a lead role in Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, deciding to make his own game instead. "I'm out to destroy the competition and my videogame is no different," he said. "I plan to shake up the videogame world like I did the rap world." Albeit presumably without getting shot quite so much.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now