Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Trion announces $70 million additional funding

Tue 23 Sep 2008 1:00pm GMT / 9:00am EDT / 6:00am PDT
BusinessOnline

US MMO publisher has now secured over $100 million since 2006

Trion World Network, the US-based MMO publisher, has announced that it has secured an additional USD 70 million in series C funding in a round led by Act II Capital, which also included investment from Time Warner, Bertelsmann and a consortium representing NBC Universal.

The investment, which adds to USD 30 million the company raised last year, gives the publisher a war chest which will help them to bring the first of its two MMO projects to market.

"This signifies a shift away from static retail products and towards games as dynamic services, which will be simulated increasingly 'in the cloud'," said Lars Buttler, Trion co-founder and CEO.

"With its industry-defining server-based games platform, worldwide publishing capabilities, an ever-growing network of AAA development studios, unrivalled partnerships in media and technology, and now significant capital in the bank, Trion is uniquely positioned to be a leader in the next cycle of electronic entertainment."

Trion is currently working on two MMOs, the first of which is a John Caneghem-led fantasy title, while the second is in partnership with the Sci Fi Channel.

Earlier this year Dundee-based Realtime Worlds announced that it had secured USD 50 million in venture capital funding to help the company launch its forthcoming MMO title APB.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now