Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Tiga to speak up for games at Labour Party Conference

Fri 19 Sep 2008 2:08pm GMT / 10:08am EDT / 7:08am PDT
Politics

Wilson to join Margaret Hodge in highlighting benefits of UK business to MPs

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UKs games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

In a bid to raise the profile of the UK games business in political circles, Tiga is to speak this weekend at the Labour Party Conference.

CEO Richard Wilson will be joining MP for culture Margaret Hodge and Iain Bennett of the Northwest Regional Development Agency, at the Celebrating the Gaming Industry fringe event.

"I am delighted to have the opportunity to speak up for the games industry in general and for developers in particular at the Labour Party Conference," said Wilson.

"The UK games industry is a world class industry that sustains over 20,000 jobs, makes a positive contribution of approximately GBP 200 million to the UK’s balance of payments and generates much needed revenue for the Exchequer.

"The industry faces challenges but it remains a success story that more politicians need to know about."

Yesterday, Tiga – the UK game developers' association – and representatives from Rebellion, Blitz, Team 17 and Reflections, marched on the Treasury to advance the case for videogames tax relief in the UK.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now