Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ latest to suffer lay-offs across multiple studios

Tue 04 Nov 2008 8:00am GMT / 3:00am EST / 12:00am PST
Publishing

Reports suggest internal studios Juice Games, Paradigm Entertainment, Mass Media, Rainbow Studios, Locomotive Games and Helixe all hit by redundancies and closures

Publisher THQ has become the latest company to shed staff and close studios due to the worsening economic environment, according to multiple media reports.

GamesIndustry.biz has confirmed that 30 positions are to go at the UKs Juice Games following the cancellation of a high-risk project. Last year, THQ decided to stop developing titles in the racing franchise Juiced following poor sales.

Stuntman: Ignition developer Paradigm Entertainment is to close entirely, according to Gamasutra, with staff informed of the decision yesterday, along with Mass Media, the team acquired by THQ back in early 2007.

Although not yet confirmed by THQ, reports suggest that Destroy All Humans! developers Sandblast Games and Locomotive Games have also been closed.

Furthermore, Rainbow Studios has also been hit by redundancies, following a round of lay-offs earlier in the year.

THQ is due to report its latest financial results on Wednesday. GamesIndustry.biz is contacting the publisher for further comment and clarification.

Only last week Electronic Arts confirmed that it would be laying off up to 600 members of staff, while independent developer Avalanche also let just under half of its workforce go due to tougher economic conditions.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now