Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

The Sims 2 sells a million, smashes EA records

Mon 27 Sep 2004 2:11pm GMT / 10:11am EDT / 7:11am PDT

The hugely anticipated sequel to the biggest selling PC game of all time, The Sims 2, has made its mark as Electronic Arts' biggest ever PC launch, selling through a million units worldwide in just ten days.

The hugely anticipated sequel to the biggest selling PC game of all time, The Sims 2, has made its mark as Electronic Arts' biggest ever PC launch, selling through a million units worldwide in just ten days.

Over 50 per cent of those units were sold in Europe, where the game went straight in at number one in the UK, and sales of the game were strong across almost every territory in the world.

"The Sims franchise has become a cultural phenomenon," according to EA Europe managing director Gerhard Florin, "and The Sims 2 is a game that changes the way we think about our industry."

EA plans to follow up The Sims 2, which is a PC-only product, with a new evolution of the Sims franchise for consoles - The Urbz: Sims in the City. The title, which features exclusive music from popular hip-hop group The Black Eyed Peas (who also appear in the game) will launch on PS2, Xbox, Cube, GBA and Nintendo DS this November.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now