Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Stringer: PS3 "infinitely more fun" than the Wii

Fri 14 Dec 2007 10:50am GMT / 5:50am EST / 2:50am PST

Sony Corporation CEO Howard Stringer has said in an interview that he believes PlayStation 3 games are "infinitely more fun" than those on Nintendo's Wii.

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Corporation CEO Howard Stringer has said in an interview that he believes PlayStation 3 games are "infinitely more fun" than those on Nintendo's Wii.

That follows an upturn in the console's recent sales fortunes, and a better situation on like-for-like sales when compared to the Wii - although Nintendo has admitted it is unable to manufacture enough hardware units to meet demand.

But Stringer told the Guardian: "We've some catching up to do, but at least we have the opportunity to connect the PS3 with the PlayStation Portable and beyond."

"I'm happy the Wii seems to be running a bit short of hardware," Stringer went on to say. "The PlayStation 3 will come into its own because its [high-end games] are infinitely more fun, demanding and exciting."

And looking to the future, he admitted to feeling more confident. "I'm glad that the last few weeks have generated excitement about PlayStation 3," he said. "Everyone's stopped talking about it the way they were six months ago."

Sales of the PS3 in the US tripled after Thanksgiving, and are still performing much better into the holiday period than before the price cut.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now