Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony inks deal with MTV for video content

Fri 09 Jan 2009 8:55am GMT / 3:55am EST / 12:55am PST
Online

South Park and SpongeBob SquarePants among titles heading to online service

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Computer Entertainment America and MTV Networks have signed a deal to bring some of the entertainment channel's properties to the PlayStation Network.

The shows, available from February as download to own, will include The City, South Park, SpongeBob SquarePants and Rock of Love Bus with Bret Michaels - with new shows becoming available later on.

"We're thrilled to add content from MTV Networks to our line up, it's a perfect fit for the PlayStation demographic, one of the most coveted audiences in entertainment today,” said Peter Dille, senior VP of marketing and PlayStation Network at SCEA.

"Combined with the superior technology of the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Portable, the PlayStation Network's video delivery service truly provides consumers the best and most comprehensive content on demand from an incredible line up of entertainment brands to enjoy at home or on-the-go."

The PlayStation Network currently hosts around 1200 films and over 3000 TV episodes, and content purchased by a Network user is transferrable between activated PS3 and PSP systems.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now