Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony denies issuing release date for Home

Fri 07 Sep 2007 1:23pm GMT / 9:23am EDT / 6:23am PDT

Sony has dismissed claims that it issued a release schedule showing launch dates for key PSP, PS2 and PlayStation 3 titles, including online community service Home.

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has dismissed claims that it issued a release schedule showing launch dates for key PSP, PS2 and PlayStation 3 titles, including online community service Home.

The dates first appeared on Kotaku.com and have since been picked up by other sites.

Key titles mentioned include Ratchet and Clank PS3, Uncharted: Drake's Progress and Gran Turismo 5 Prologue. A "tentative" date of October 11 is given for PlayStation Home.

But a spokesperson for SCE UK told GamesIndustry.biz, "That's not an official release schedule. None of the dates on the list have been confirmed at this time.

"I don't know where Kotaku have taken them from or why they're claiming 'SCEE have clarified dates' as we haven't sent them anything, and neither have our Central office."

According to the spokesperson, the only confirmed release dates Sony currently has are for PS3 titles Heavenly Sword (September 14) and Warhawk (September 21).

Sony declined to comment specifically on the rumoured October 11 date for Home. But a spokesperson did state, "We will be making more announcements about Home at this year's Tokyo Game Show." TGS 2007 runs from September 20 - 23.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now