Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Shadowrun developer closes doors

Thu 13 Sep 2007 9:20am GMT / 5:20am EDT / 2:20am PDT

Shadowrun developer FASA Studio has officially closed, after months of rumours.

Shadowrun developer FASA Studio has officially closed, after months of rumours.

The team worked on Shadowrun, the first cross platform game for Xbox 360 and Windows Vista, released earlier this year.

"It is my sad duty to announce that FASA Studio has officially closed its doors," said Mitch Gitelman, studio manager, via the developers community forums.

"Today was the official last day of employment for those of us who had not moved on to other positions within Microsoft Game Studios. While the rumours have been circulating forever, we chose to wait on an official announcement because we didnāt want peopleās attention distracted from our last product, Shadowrun, a game we love," he said.

According to Gitelman the team knew the studio was to wind down operations, but it continued to support Shadowrun with three updates before making the closure public.

"I am pleased that about half of us have found great positions elsewhere in MGS and Microsoft where they can share their experience and passion with the great people there," said Gitelman.

"I'm saying goodbye to you on behalf of a group of talented and dedicated professionals who busted their humps for the love of the game. I am proud to have worked with and represented them to you and know that wherever they go, they will continue to kick ass," he told the community.

FASA studio was also responsible for Xbox titles Mech Assault and Crimson Skies: High Road to Revenge.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now