Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sega Sammy to drop 560 jobs

Tue 10 Feb 2009 3:27pm GMT / 10:27am EST / 7:27am PST
Publishing

Publisher will also close 110 amusement facilities and slash research and design costs by 20 per cent following poor financial results

Following poor financial results, Sega Sammy is asking 560 staff to volunteer for redundancy, as the company attempts to return to profitability in the next financial year.

Sega is also to close 110 amusement facilities, and slash 20 per cent of research and development costs in its amusement machine and consumer business.

The publisher will now consult with staff for approximately two weeks in a bid to reduce the headcount, which currently stands at 3127 employees.

Sega expects to payout JPY 4 billion in severance allowances and reduce annual labour costs by around JPY 5 billion for the year ended March 2010.

For the nine months to December 31, 2008, the publisher recorded a USD 119 million loss (JPY 10.8 billion).

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now